Living Gluten Free

Where has my summer gone.

As some of you know I work with children that have multi-needs and last year was the first year I didn’t work summer school, doctors orders. This year I opted not to work summer school again because I was diagnosed with several other autoimmune diseases and well I just need the rest. I love my job but it is a very physical.

I did work a lot on No Gluten Natural Girl Products but had a blast doing it, I did not spend as much time at my pool or in my pool as I wanted and this year no vacation :(   but we spent a lot of time with friends and family so I’m good with that. :)

This is my last week off, next week we go back to school and I have to figure out what I will be bringing for lunch. Lunch is not easy in our room, everyone has a child and not many of our children eat because of their health issues. We don’t have a regular lunch break like many of you do because of the type of classroom I am in, so because of this we try not to bring foods that needs to be warmed up.

I am not a big fan of gluten-free bread :(   it falls apart and well I just don’t like it much so unless I bake my own bread which I do from time to time sandwiches are out and I will only bring them on occasion. Of course I could bring chips :) and veggies, crackers and cheese but I am trying to not eat dairy (Yes I have a feeling I am lactose intolerant) another thing to add to the list :(

So I figured I would research what parents send when their child has Celiac Disease and found some great ideas and I  added some of my own.

  • Left overs from dinner
  • Hard boiled eggs
  • Fresh fruit
  • Fresh veggies
  • Pop corn
  • Chips with salsa or humus (can be used with veggies too)
  • Gluten free pretzels
  • Yogurt
  • Nuts, almonds (my favorite) sunflower seeds
  • Lettuce wraps (love these) I fill mine with chicken salad or tuna salad
  • Salad
  • Home made trail mix (yummy)
  • Gluten free crackers
  • Gluten free cookies or brownies
  • Pasta Salad (another favorite of mine)
  • Think Thin Bars (maybe not for kids but I love them) I think thin all the time :) but nothing happens I still weight the same :(
  •  Glutino Blueberry Breakfast Bars (they have others, this one is my favorite) 
  • Sushi (I love sushi) Keep it in the frig.

So far not a bad list and of course we always have chocolate in our room (In the file cabinet)  LOL  Sometimes you just need it. :)   If you have any other ideas let me know and I will add it to my list.

Leave a Reply

