Living Gluten Free

Some time ago I saw a red spot on my head, my hairdresser who is my husband’s cousin thought it could be irritation from a hair color I used.  Well we found two more red patches on my head and no hair is growing in the red patches. Long story short I can now add Alopecia Areata to the list of issues I have. Alopecia Areata is a condition in which the immune system mistakenly attacks the hair follicles. Sound like my Sjögren’s syndrome which is another chronic autoimmune disease in which people’s white blood cells attack their moisture-producing glands. My body just doesn’t like me anymore.

Alopecia Areata usually starts with one or more small, round, smooth bald patches on the head and can eventually cause complete hair loss on the scalp or even on the entire body (a condition known as alopecia universalis). Now that might be Ok not to have to shave my legs anymore or under my arms, right? There is no cure for Alopecia Areata. Most, but not all, of the research reports that describe patients with alopecia and celiac disease also report that the patients’ hair grew back after they adopted a gluten-free diet. Hair can grow back in or fall out again at any time, and the disease course is different for each person. So if you all have been following me you know that over the years I have had my hair fall out and I have lost my eyelashes several times, but now I have the red spots with no hair.  I know I am going to fall into the group of not all instead of most that get their hair back. Life is a trip, everyday is a new adventure. Bring it !!!!! LOL

Comments on: "Anyone know where I might find a good wig?" (10)

  1. Jennifer said:

    My niece suffers from Alopecia and she was able to get a wig thru Locks for Love or Locks of Love. Not sure which it is officially called.

    • I know about Locks for Love, they do wonderful things. Several teacher I work with have donated to them and we even had a child with cancer who grew her hair back and then donated it to Locks for Love. I am at the beginning stage of this, small patches of hair loss, my hope is it wont take over my entire head but if it does I have several places wear I can go and purchase a wig. I was talking to a friend and she said “Well you can have a different color for every mood”. Now that will drive my husband crazy, what color means what mood. LOL Thanks for reading my story and I wish your niece the very best.

  2. Shannon said:

    I am so glad to see you have a sense of humor about the situation. I know it can be a struggle to try to keep things together while navigating obstacles.

    Have you tried http://www.voguewigs.com/? They have a great selection of pieces for many budgets in trendy and traditional styles and colors.

    • I did check them out today, that’s funny. I’m not there yet but I suspect I may be at the rate these red patches are turning up on my head. I am hoping that the hair will grow back, my eyelashes have so fingers crossed. If I sat and cried over every obstacle I have faced in my life I wouldn’t be here. I complain from time to time but at this point in my life I just gotta shake my head and laugh. Whats the alternative, life’s to short not to have a sense of humor. Thanks for the kind words, I appreciate it.

  3. We loved your website so much we added it to our sites to visit list at http://www.usbhubreview.net/sites-we-like Complete the FREE offer to make it permanent.

  4. Really nice information, it was really enjoyable!

    • Thank you, my goal is to inform people, help out others and add a little humor in the mix. Sometimes you just gotta laugh. Thanks again 🙂

  5. Found this on Google and I’m glad I did. Amazing article.

Leave a Reply

